

ESTABLISHMENT AND COMPOSITION OF THE LICENSING SUB COMMITTEES 2021/22

EXTRAORDINARY LICENSING COMMITTEE 27 April 2021

CLASSIFICATION: Open

Appendix 1 - Composition of Licensing Sub Committees A-E 2021/22

WARD(S) AFFECTED

N/A

Tim Shields, Chief Executive

1. INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 This report requests that the Licensing Committee establish its Sub Committees for the municipal year 2021/2022 as set out in Appendix 1 to this report.
- 1.2 The terms of reference of Licensing Sub Committees are as set out in Part 3 of the Council's Constitution.

2. RECOMMENDATION

- 2.1 It is recommended that the Licensing Committee:
- i) Approve the establishment and membership of five Sub Committees (A-E) as set out in Appendix 1.

3. BACKGROUND

- 3.1 Full Council is responsible for appointing the Chair, Vice Chair and membership of the Licensing Committee. The Licensing Committee is to establish and appoint (one or more) sub-committees, and approve the delegations of functions to the Sub-Committees and any additional Sub-Committee hearing procedures over and above the Council's Procedure Rules as set out in Part 3 of the Council's Constitution. (Licensing Act 2003, s 7(1), s9 and s10(1)(a)).
- 3.2 It is proposed that five sub committees (A-E) are set up which are drawn from the membership of the Licensing Committee. Sub-Committees will lead on considering and resolving all matters relating to the licensing, certification and registration functions of the Council which fall within the functions of the Licensing Committee.
- 3.3 Licensing Sub-Committees have responsibility for all matters relating to the discharge by the licensing authority of its licensing and related functions under the Licensing Act 2003 s4(1), with a view to promoting the four licensing objectives:
 - The prevention of crime & disorder
 - Public safety
 - The prevention of public nuisance
 - The protection of children from harm
- 3.4 Licensing Sub-Committees consider applications for new and existing licenses under the Licensing Act 2003; licences for the sale of alcohol, public entertainment, cinemas, theatres, late night refreshment houses, and night cafés. They are also responsible for hearing appeals against decisions made by officers carrying out delegated licensing functions. Councillors will receive regular support to fulfil their role from legal and licensing officers.
- 3.5 Its functions are also governed by; The Gambling Act 2005, Schedule 3 Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act and Part II of the London Local Authorities Act 1991.
- 3.6 The allocation of seats to achieve a political balance, where required by law, is applicable to the Licensing Committee and has been based on the following formula:

Labour 49 92% Conservative 4 8%

Therefore there is an allocation of 14 Labour seats and 1 Conservative.

The political balance rules do not however apply to the Licensing Sub-Committees because they are appointed under the Licensing Act 2003 and so are not ordinary committees appointed under section 102 of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 COMMENTS OF THE GROUP DIRECTOR, FINANCE AND CORPORATE RESOURCES

4.1 There are no additional budgetary implications arising from the information outlined in this report. All costs are contained within the current approved budget.

5 COMMENTS OF THE DIRECTOR, LEGAL AND GOVERNANCE SERVICES

- 5.1 The membership of the Licensing Committee is recommended for approval in paragraph 2.1. Licensing is not an executive function.
- 5.2 The Council has delegated its licensing functions to the Licensing Committee.
- 5.3 The Licensing Committee has delegated to the Sub-Committees of the Licensing Committee authority to hear and determine applications set out in the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005. The Licensing Committee has delegated to the Sub-Committees authority to hear and determine applications under the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Acts for Sexual Entertainment Venues.
- 5.4 The Licensing Sub-Committee meetings shall be carried out in accordance with the requirements of the Licensing Act 2003 (Hearing) Regulations 2005 ("the Hearing Regulations").
- 5.5 Under section 6(1) of the Licensing Act 2003 provides that a licensing authority must establish a licensing committee consisting of at least 10 but not more than 15 members of the authority.
- Under section 7(1) of the Licensing Act 2003 provides that all matters relating to the discharge by a licensing authority of its licensing functions are referred to its licensing committee and, accordingly, that committee must discharge those functions on behalf of the authority.
- 5.7 Under section 9(1) of the Licensing Act 2003 provides that *a* licensing committee may establish one or more sub-committees consisting of three members of the committee.
- 5.8 The meetings of the Licensing Committee will be held in public except insofar as the matters for decisions relate to issues which can be dealt with in private in accordance with the Access to Information Rules.
- The Licensing Sub-Committee hearings will be held in public except where the Sub-Committee may decide to exclude the public from all or part of its proceedings if it is in the public interest in accordance with the Hearing Regulations.

APPENDICES

Appendix 1 - Composition of Licensing Sub Committees A-E 2021/22

BACKGROUND PAPERS

None.

Report Author:	Natalie Williams, Governance Services natalie.williams@hackney.gov.uk 020 8356 8407
Legal Comments	Amanda Nauth, Licensing and Corporate Lawyer amanda.nauth@hackney.gov.uk 020 8356 6345
Financial Comments	Deirdre Worrell, Director - Neighbourhoods and Housing Finance deidre.worell@hackney.gov.uk 020 8356 7350

Appendix 1

Composition of the Licensing Sub Committees 2021/2022 Sub Committees A-E

Licensing Sub Committee A

Cllr Sophie Conway Cllr Sharon Patrick Cllr Gilbert Smyth

Licensing Sub Committee B

Cllr Margaret Gordon Cllr Sem Moema Cllr Harvey Odze

Licensing Sub Committee C

Cllr M Can Ozsen Cllr James Peters Cllr Penny Wrout

Licensing Sub Committee D

Cllr Brian Bell Cllr Susan Fajana - Thomas Cllr Emma Plouviez

Licensing Sub Committee E

Cllr Kofo David Cllr Caroline Selman (Maternity Leave) Cllr Peter Snell